Letting Go and Asking Questions

Relationship Tip #32: Letting go of expectations. I’m a foodie, so when I went off to England I fully expected that the food be awful. I was very pleasantly disabused of that notion immediately. Every meal I had in England was exceptional.
How often in relationships have I made assumptions about how it was going to be. I have held myself back or charged ahead based on those assumptions to be disappointed or sometimes, titallated by unexpected experiences.
My suggestion to you is to look at the people in your life, new and old, with fresh eyes. Discover something about them. Wonder about them. Ask questions like, “when did you first love your hobby”, “how did you decide on the names of your children”, “tell your favourite story, that your family loves to tell”. And then listen with wonder.